ZINE-SPIRATION! (Week 2 post)

Prior to this year, I hadn’t really gotten much exposure to Zine culture. But after doing a bit of research, I kind of fell in love with the concept of a zine. Below are some of my favourites.

“Labs With Abs” by Andrew Jeffrey Wright is probably one of my favourites I’ve found, with a simple, yet hilarious concept, and a super organic illustrative style. 

 Image

 

Another zine of similar style is “Graham is a Weirdo” by Gemma Correll.Image

On the opposite end of the spectrum, I really enjoyed the food zine “The Runcible Spoon”.
Image

It is an independent food zine that has that really cool handmade feel, inspired by the original punk zines, with a cut-and-paste style. I love the juxtaposition between hand lettered and illustrated images to photographs.
ImageImage

 

Another style that I found really interesting is a highly graphic approach, the total opposite of the cut-and-paste style of Runcible Spoon. “Afterzine” is a gorgeous zine edited by Hamish Robertson that takes submissions based on a set theme.

Image

 

And lastly, “I’ll Go Where You Go” is a 20 page zine by Julia Pott, illustrating woodland creatures going through relationship dramas. The concept is cute, but the quality of the illustrations are what won me over. 

Image

 

And that’s it! 

 

 

Leave a Reply

