Leading and Line Length!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Assignment:
Typeset 5 different pages for: a children’s book, a printed annual report, a magazine, a non-fiction book, and a university textbook.

My favourite 3 layouts were the ones I created for the university textbook, the non-fiction book and the printed annual report.

The layout below is designed to look like a page from a university textbook. I wanted to create a cleaner, simpler feel than the textbooks I remember studying from at school. I used larger paragraph spaces to differentiate between sections, allowing for easier studying and reading. Since we were not allowed to use images, I wanted to create interest by using coloured sidebar elements and lots of white space to allow the eye to rest in such a text-heavy book. I felt that this was successful after I realized I wanted my textbook to have a clean feel like this.
Image

My second page is the layout I designed for a non-fiction novel. I had no idea what a “non-fiction novel” was, so I had to do quite a bit more research for this one. I ended up basing it strongly off of how the Bible is usually typeset in modern printings. I used a pretty conventional two-column grid that emphasized the academic nature of the text. I included footnotes at the bottom and moved the folio and chapter name to the top. I assumed that a publication of this nature would be extremely text heavy, so by basing my typesetting off of the Bible (an extremely text-heavy book) I feel that I’ve achieved a fairly readable page that wouldn’t exhaust the reader. 

Image

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My third layout is for the printed annual report. This page would ideally be part of the CEO’s message or something similar. I wanted to take some inspiration from magazine layout (see the pull quote) to make up for the lack of images. I tried to balance a large amount of text with lots of white space and a upbeat colour. The tab at the top would suggest the chapter or section of the annual report. I especially liked the balance of colour in this page.
Image

Leave a Reply

